Heresy’s Kiss

I received any email tonight that made me laugh out loud. Reader Sheena attends a very small, very Christian college in Virginia. She received the following email from the school’s campus minister:

Come hungry because there will be homemade peanut butter cookies (the kind with a heresy’s kiss on top), chocolate chip cookies, fudge, Christmas mix, chips and dips and the list goes on and on.

As Sheena said, “We may be considered a liberal college (compared to a certain Liberty University), but I don’t think we’re liberal enough for heresy kisses on our cookies!”

I would love to experience heresy’s kiss.

I bet it tastes good.

Thanks, Sheena.

7 responses to “Heresy’s Kiss

  1. Not only the statement is funny because Heresy is a hardcore punk band, I am also amused by the fact that the word “heresy” refers to anti-religion beliefs.
    zapdr
    Merriam-Webster definition:
    1 a: adherence to a religious opinion contrary to church dogma b: denial of a revealed truth by a baptized member of the Roman Catholic Church c: an opinion or doctrine contrary to church dogma

  2. Narges – actually, heresy is not so much anti-religion, as anti-orthodox. Note that orthodox means “right” or “correct” thought/teaching.

  3. Narges – did you actually think we didn’t get the joke about religious heresy? Did you really think we were all thinking about some random punk band?!

  4. To me, heresy in the religious sense is a vocab word I had to learn in English class in high school. On the other hand, I thought the band was more common knowledge. I guess that was just me.

  5. Ha! I didn’t get either reference! I was just about to google it, but then I decided to read the comments. This reminds me of when I was in college taking a course I believe was called “living religions of the west.” The teacher was always throwing around biblical references that I didn’t understand. Eventually I became frustrated enough with the situation that when he said something about a couple consummating a marriage, I shouted out (in front of 150 people), “What’s consummate?” Needless to say, everyone else knew. It took me a very long time to live that one down!

  6. EFFING HILARIOUS!!!!!!

  7. Is this in any way related to the Judas Kiss?

Leave a Reply

